TOP 10 Travel Bucket List – Nature

What I love to do in my spare time is definitely making lists. I can sit for hours and hours writing things down. You can probably imagine that the most of them are travel destinations ;). At first I wanted to do a big one here but then I realized that I just can’t narrow down the number of travel wonders so there will be a little series :). In each post I’ll write about ten spots, cities, monuments etc. that are absolutely necessary for me to visit someday! Sit comfortably and grab something to eat because I have a lot to show!

In no particular order – my list of ten incredible nature spots:

TROLLTUNGA – NORWAY

3fd3d7226p3d282326t3d4

It’s a rock shelf located 700 metres (2,300 ft) above the lake Ringedalsvatnet in Western Norway. Hiking from the parking in Skjeggedal to the top takes about 3 to 4 hours (11km/7miles). From the shelf you can enjoy the beautiful view and try not to fall down ;). Trolltunga is probably the first place from this list that I’ll actually see. If I’m lucky and successful in finding a companion I’ll go to Norway again in September ;).

YOSEMITE NATIONAL PARK, CALIFORNIA, USA

parc-yosemite-720x512

If I had to chose one national park in the US, I’d definitely go to Yosemite! It’s visited each year by almost 4 millions of people and I totally understand why. There are waterfalls, granite cliffs, the Sierra Nevada mountain chain and many species of fauna and flora (like the American black bears, deers, marmots, owls, cougars, sugar pine and incense cedar). If you love hiking – it’s the place to go! There’s plenty of routes, both easy and advanced :).

SON DOONG CAVE, VIETNAM

caveinsideraw3_edited

Son Doong Cave in Vietnam is the world’s biggest cave, discovered in 2009. It’s 200 meters wide, 150 meters high and 9 kilometers long. There’s a mini-jungle (“Garden of Edam”), river and many different rock formations (stalactites and “Pearls of mountain”). It’s located within Phong Nha-Ke Bank National Park near the border with Laos. Son Doong is the part of the 150 cave system – and the most of them are still not explored. You can say that it’s not really a cave – but a whole mini world trapped inside of it. And I extremely want to see it! :)

DEAD SEA

dead-sea-3-z8sn8q

I don’t think that there is someone who doesn’t want to float freely in the Dead Sea. I don’t think that there’s any reason not to. Isn’t it really freaking cool?! Besides its giant salinisation it’s also Earth’s lowest elevation on land! And hardly any life inside of it. Isn’t it the most amazing place in the world???

LAKE BAIKAL, SIBERIA, RUSSIA

lake-baikal

A lake, again. Now, it’s time for the deepest lake in the world (1642 metres!). Located in the southern Siberia and it’s crystal clear. More than 80% of the animals are endemic which means that you can’t see them anywhere else (Baikal seal is a great example, and it’s one of the three completely freshwater seals in the world). It freezes in the winter time and it’s a perfect place for ice skating! :) When I finally take the Siberian railway I really need to see the lake.

DURDLE DOOR, ENGLAND

iconic-rock-arch-of-durdle-door_durdle-door-holiday-park Durdle Door in comparison to others is not THAT outstanding but… I really want to have a cute photo in that spot. And these little things make the world beautiful, don’t they?

NEIST POINT LIGHTHOUSE, ISLE OF SKYE, SCOTLAND

neist-point-isle-of-skye

And another instagram-worthy spot. It was lit for the first time in 1909, now it’s operated remotely.Generally Neist Point is a viewpoint on the most western part od Isle of Skye. You can see dolphins, whales and basking sharks from there!

MOUNT RORAIMA, SOUTH AMERICA

mount_roraima_by_andywong75-d743d1i

This very characteristic mountain is located on the border of Venezuela, Brazil and Guyana. It’s the highest of the Pakaraima chain of tepui plateaus. Most of the time the top is above the cloud level so it looks mysterious making it one of the most desired peaks to climb. It is also linked with loads of myths and the scientists say that it’s two BILLION years old!

PLITVICE LAKES NATIONAL PARK,  CROATIA

plitvice-lakes-croatia

Lakes and waterfalls. One of the oldest national parks in Europe. Amazing views, rich fauna and flora (wolves, turtles, owls, wild cats…). The most beautiful place in the world! Or it could be the most beautiful, I’ll make my mind when I actually see it!

TSINGY DE BEMARAHA (“THE STONE FOREST”), MADAGASCAR

tsingybemarahanationalpark-02

The National Park is in Melaky Region of northwest Madagascar. It’s a home for many endemic species, ones can occur in only one stone gap creating a micro-system. There isn’t anything else apart of the cool shaped stones, but hey, it’s another great spot to take pictures and see something extraordinary ;).

That’s my list! Have you seen some of these places? Or maybe there are on your list too? Comment the answer! :)

Kamila


Leave a comment